Author Topic: Four Blind Mice  (Read 26417 times)

Cactus

  • Guest
Re: Four Blind Mice
« Reply #15 on: June 21, 2012, 03:02:34 pm »
The SS made two extra moves with his glove, not one.   The only time you see that is when the ball is not securely in the glove.

StrikeZone

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4025
Re: Four Blind Mice
« Reply #16 on: June 21, 2012, 03:04:59 pm »
You must be watching a different video.

CurtOne

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18131
Re: Four Blind Mice
« Reply #17 on: June 21, 2012, 03:38:05 pm »
My video doesn't stay on the ball snag.  It breaks up just a little.

brjones

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 16627
Re: Four Blind Mice
« Reply #18 on: June 21, 2012, 03:55:56 pm »
Even with the glove shift (which I agree with SZ was not a real bobble), it looked to me that he stopped moving before the runner was on the base.

I think it's overturned easily with replay.

ticohans

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3238
Re: Four Blind Mice
« Reply #19 on: June 21, 2012, 04:56:00 pm »
All he did was move the ball down lower in his glove. He has enough control (i.e. NO bobble) to play around with it. Clean and clear, no doubt about it.

brjones

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 16627
Re: Four Blind Mice
« Reply #20 on: June 26, 2012, 08:30:20 am »
Bob Davidson lets Ozzie Guillen be the umpire and interpret Mike Matheny's double switch (in other words, Bob Davidson is awful at his job):

http://hardballtalk.nbcsports.com/2012/06/26/bob-davidson-screws-up-a-double-switch-costs-the-cardinals-a-hitter/

brjones

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 16627
Re: Four Blind Mice
« Reply #21 on: June 27, 2012, 09:38:22 pm »
Unbelievable...Mike DiMuro doesn't even ask to see the ball after Dewayne Wise dives into the crowd and doesn't come all that close to making a catch.


http://deadspin.com/5921597/the-greatest-trick-dewayne-wise-ever-pulled-was-convincing-the-world-he-caught-this-ball

StrikeZone

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4025
Re: Four Blind Mice
« Reply #22 on: June 27, 2012, 10:08:43 pm »
HAHAHAHAHA!

CurtOne

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18131
Re: Four Blind Mice
« Reply #23 on: July 07, 2012, 08:40:23 pm »
Perhaps not a bad call, but another umpire making himself the center of attention:

http://www.yardbarker.com/mlb/articles/msn/zack_greinke_ejected_after_spiking_baseball_in_first_inning_video/11173997

AndyMacFAIL

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 846
Re: Four Blind Mice
« Reply #24 on: May 25, 2013, 12:17:31 am »

Angel Hernandez call Alex Rios out on this play that would have ended the game in the 10th.

Luckily for Angel the White Sox won the game in the next inning.





shasson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1199
Re: Four Blind Mice
« Reply #25 on: May 25, 2013, 07:51:31 pm »
Jeff Nelson with a call so awful, it's hard to even get upset. They really need replay. This is just embarrassing for everyone:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/05/25/jeff-nelson-blows-call-double-play-mariners-rangers_n_3336389.html

CurtOne

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18131
Re: Four Blind Mice
« Reply #26 on: May 25, 2013, 08:18:15 pm »
At least that one's understandable.  The ump is usually watching the bag and feet and they hear the ball impact the glove.  He can be "forgiven" for not realizing it was the wrong glove.  Maybe.  If you're kind.

shasson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1199
Re: Four Blind Mice
« Reply #27 on: May 25, 2013, 10:33:52 pm »
2nd base or home ump had to have seen what happened. Silliness to get that wrong.

AndyMacFAIL

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 846
Re: Four Blind Mice
« Reply #28 on: May 25, 2013, 10:44:23 pm »
At least that one's understandable.  The ump is usually watching the bag and feet and they hear the ball impact the glove.  He can be "forgiven" for not realizing it was the wrong glove.  Maybe.  If you're kind.

You're being way too generous.  There was no need to make an immediate call on the play.  I've seen many times, and I'm sure you have too, where the umpire tells the fielder "show me the ball" before he makes the call of an out.  Granted, that usually happens at a bang-bang play at the plate or a fielder going into the stands but there's no reason not to do it at 1st too when there are two fielders that close together.


CurtOne

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18131
Re: Four Blind Mice
« Reply #29 on: May 26, 2013, 07:07:12 am »
Nelson at least admitted when shown the replay that he had blown it and said what I said, he was focused on the feet.  What's sad, Andy, is there probably were umps who saw what happened and said nothing.  They have it drilled into them not to correct a peer.  That's nuts.  OTOH, it probably would be chaos to have Angel Hernandez running across the diamond changing calls because he saw something else.

Sorry, it was a blown call, but at least he isn't an Angel Hernandez about it.